What Would I do if…

  • What would I do if I knew I only had 1 year to live? I would drive Route 66 across country with my fiancé and my dog. I have always wanted to see the country. I would make sure my family knew I loved them and appreciated everything they have done for me. I would volunteer as much of my time as possible
  • What would I do if a natural disaster or terrorist event struck my town? I would do everything in my power to help my neighbors. I would start raising money for those in need and donate blood.
  • What would I do if a friend asked me to help him or her move but I really wanted to go see a movie that night? I would help my friends. I do not have a large social group but the friends I do have are loyal and always willing to help me. Helping them move would be the least I could do.
  • What would I do if I found out my favorite brand had been exploiting workers and participating in environmentally destructive practices? I would stop buying their products. I have already done this in the past. My fiancé and I are currently searching for clothing that is made in America. We watched a documentary about the impact of the fashion industry on other nations. I was appalled by what I learned. Currently we are emailing local department stores to ask them what brands they sell, if any, that are made in America.
  • What would I do if I won the lottery? I would pay off my parent’s and in-law’s mortgage/debt then my fiancé and mines debt. I would then put some towards a college fund for my niece and nephews. I would like to save some for retirement and donate to the humane society. Depending on how much I had left after that, perhaps I would open the coffee shop/bookstore I always wanted to own. Most importantly, I would like to help those who have helped me.
  • What would I do if someone decided to fight me for no good reason? If possible, I would walk away. If not, I would fight with everything in me to make sure I survived.
  • What would I do if an opportunity for an inside deal came my way with no chance of anyone finding out? I would turn it down. I would not use inside knowledge to my advantage. I am a firm believer in what goes around comes around. I would be opening myself up to negative energy and consequences and not to mention that I it is morally wrong.
  • What would I do if my team were bashing a teammate behind his back in my presence? (Divine & Machate, 2013, p. 23) I would say that I am not comfortable with their behavior and explain that I am going to leave because I do not want to be a part of gossip. This is something I have been faced with in the past and the times when I did nothing felt terrible and inauthentic to myself.

 

  • What Am I Passionate About? …
  • What books, movies, art, or music get me pumped?– 90% of the books I own are historical non-fiction and biographies. My favorite historical time periods are Ancient, Russian, and World War I. In terms of fiction, Game of Thrones and Lord of the Rings are my all time favorite. I love watching historical dramas and science fiction. I grew up watching Star Wars, Gettysburg, Predator, and Aliens, my favorites! I am a huge fan of rock. Janis Joplin, Credence, Led Zeppelin, Johnny Cash to name a few.
  • Who inspires me and why?– I am inspired by people who follow their dreams and convictions and do not let the words of others influence them. I admire individuals who engage in activities that help people in one form or another. I also very much inspired by my parents. They have been married for 40 years, raised 4 children, and gave us a wonderful life. They bought an RV about 10-15 years ago and travel the country when they can. They will be retiring soon and I hope they are able to spend more time doing what they love; travelling and spending time with their grandchildren.
  • Which of my characteristics make me feel great about myself? – My kindness and empathy towards others.- My humor; it makes me and others laugh, something that is important to me.
  • What activities would I do if I had more time and no barriers? – I would finally start the history book about WWI I have always wanted to write.- Learn to play drums!- Volunteer for Habitat for Humanity.
  • What is meaningful to me about these activities? – Each of the activities above provide a different level of meaning for me. History is one of my passions and is a large part of who I am. I am always amazed by the stories I hear and the lessons I learn from studying history. I think I am the most happy when I am reading a history book, it further expands my knowledge of our past and I find it highly cathartic. Learning to play the drums would be a huge achievement for me. I am not musically inclined nor am I very coordinated. I would need both to play the drums well. It might not improve the world, but it would improve mine!
  • What benefit to others would these activities or characteristics provide?– I believe volunteering for Habitat for Humanity would absolutely change the world, one family at a time. Helping people in your community is a powerful feeling and being able to “pay it forward” might start a chain reaction that would have a great impact.
  • Could I change the world, making it even a tiny bit better, by focusing more on these?– Yes. I know that one person alone absolutely has the power to change the world.
  • What would it take to get me to step into the arena of even just one of these activities? (Divine & Machate, 2013, pp. 25-26) – I honestly do not know but it is something I am seriously considering.

Values: What is important to me…

Striving towards…

– Integrity and truth

– Respect for others and myself

– Forgiveness

– Patience and kindness

– Appreciation and Love

– Lifelong learning

– Humor and Joy

– Adventure and Curiosity

Striving away from:

– Selfishness

– Anger

– Procrastination

– Fear

What is my purpose in life?…

My purpose in life is to enjoy the moments I have with my loved ones. To make them feel as special everyday as they make me feel. To live each day as if it were my last and to not take the small, everyday moments for granted. I will seek new opportunities that follow my passions and not let fear, self-doubt, or the voices of others sway me. When I face obstacles and failures, I will understand that it is a part of life and look for the lessons I can learn.

I will work every day to remember and follow my dreams and to foster the same in others. Through acts of kindness, charity, and honest reflection I will work to leave a positive lasting contribution on the global community. Appreciate nature and seek to preserve our environment so that future generations will have the same opportunities as I did. Lastly, I will remain open to different ideas and thoughts and seek knowledge to continue the journey of self discovery.
To sum it up…

…To focus on becoming mentally strong, physically healthy, and spiritually sound so that I can support, love, uplift, and encourage myself and others to fulfill their true potential.

6 thoughts on “My Journey to becoming Unstoppable…

  1. These are incredible things to stand for. Forgiveness is so next level. I like to believe i don’t hold grudges, but i still find myself thinking of things from the past. Clearly, I haven’t let them go. Not easy to do, but a worthy goal!

    I would love to learn more about your book about WWI. My 9 year old is a huge history buff and this was by far my favorite subject growing up. I love learning about the past and hopefully growing and not repeating the same mistakes. Are you thinking fiction or non-fiction? I have read most of the classic fiction from WWI including my favorite Birdsong. I’m not typically a sucker for love stories, but this was powerful.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, I admit at times forgiveness can be more than I am capable of but the burden of carrying around resentment and anger is more than I want.It clouds up the spaces in my life that could be open to other, more productive, endeavors.

      How GREAT that your son is interested in history! I have been trying to foster that love in my nephews but I am not having much luck so far. Some of the best memories I have are spent discussing historical topics and ideas with my father. He is a large part of why I love history, I bet you have been a tremendous influence on your son as well!

      I have been wavering back and forth regarding the subject of my book. I know the first book I write will be non-fiction. For a very long time I always thought it would be centered around WWI’s affect on the middle east or focus on the Russian revolution but after watching Board Walk Empire (please do not judge me) I have found an increased fascination with learning more about the services offered to returning WWI vets or lack thereof. I always hear about the GI Bill and other social services offered to WWII soldiers but not much about WWI. I have started looking further into this. Part of my problem is that I want to know everything and I find it all incredibly interesting!

      Like

  2. I like your approach focusing on yourself first and then moving onto others. It’s like the analogy with “putting on your oxygen mask first before putting on your child’s.”

    Like

  3. I like the completion of your post with the values and purpose. I was going to ask you to shorten the purpose, but i think it works. Although you may want to consider something shorter: to be strong in mind, body, and spirt so you can support and inspire others. Those are my words of course.

    Like

  4. Todd – Thank you for your feedback. I will continue to work on refining my purpose as the course progresses. I am thinking “To be unwavering in mind, body, and soul so that I can inspire greatness in others.” I am not sure I am sold on it…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment