To me, optimal health encompasses mental, physical, and emotional well-being. Ideally, I will know I have reached my optimal health whenimages (4)I have reached my target weight, regularly exercise,  eat a healthy, balanced diet all the while maintaining a healthy emotional and mental balance.At my optimal health I will physically feel more energized, possess more stamina and strength. Mentally I will feel positive, optimistic, and be guided by a strong sense of self. I will be emotionally stable and able to connect positively to my family, my friends, and my coworkers. I will feel confident knowing that I can handle life’s curveballs and understand that life’s ups and downs will build my character and offer opportunities for me to grow and develop as an individual. Being at my optimal health will allow me to work more effectively and efficiently towards my goals as well.

                Maintaining my optimal health will require work on a daily basis. Nothing worth it is ever easy in life and when it comes to my health there are no excuses that are really acceptable. Establishing a routine that I hold myself accountable to is very important.

I have thought a lot about what is preventing me from reaching my optimal health. The honest answer is me. I am proud of my overall eating habits and feel that I do have a well-balanced diet. In the past, I tended to procrastinate when it came to exercising and I realize that aspect of my personality is not helpful. I need to learn how not to allow fear to creep in and influence my decisions. Fear can be paralyzing and debilitating. Identifying stressors and effectively handling them is crucial as well.

             Thegiphy

The road to optimal health is not immediate. It takes commitment and dedication and a belief that it is worth it. At the end of the day, I have to want to be the best version of myself and be willing to work hard for it.

One thought on “Optimal Health

  1. Thank you for sharing your story about your fiance. It sounds like this was a great wake up call for both of you and now you are committed every day to make the right decisions towards optimal health. Keep it up!

    Like

Leave a comment